Kayaking in a different US state with different laws

Hey all! I was just wondering if anyone could help me out… I live in North Carolina where I do not have to register my kayak. However, I plan on visiting my hometown soon and was planning on bringing the yak but in Ohio i believe I need to register my kayak? So… should I try to register my kayak in NC or since I’m a resident here will I be good in Ohio not registering it? Didn’t know if anyone here would have an idea. I’ll be talking to a boat registrar down here tomorrow hopefully. Thanks. :smile:

Wish I could help more than to say this is a good question. I would expect the answer to be what is legal in your home state but that is just a guess. Jim.

Talk to Ohio, but in most cases you do not have to register a kayak in a state you are visiting for a short time. You just have to honor the rules of your home state, in your case no registration. I would make sure to carry a driver’s license though especially if you are launching from a state facility.
Here is what I found on a USA Today site about it. My recollection is that this came up about another state which requires registration in the last year and they had similar arrangements.
“Registering a Kayak
All kayaks utilizing Ohio waters are required to register with the state. Proof of ownership is required to register your kayak. The state-issued Alternative Registration sticker must be displayed on the vessel, and the paper copy of the registration must be with you whenever paddling Ohio waters. **If the craft is registered in another state and you are visiting for less than 60 days, you are exempt from having to register. **Registration is also not needed if you are competing in a sanctioned kayaking competition or are temporarily visiting from outside the U.S.”

Generally if visiting you do not need a local registration. That period is usually 30 days. As long as you have home state I’d, drivers license, car registration from NC you should be ok.