kayaking in ocean

I am new to kayaking. I kayak in Belize and need a recommendation for an ocean-use kayak? I want a 2 seater. What would you recommend? I need it to be lightweight as I have to store it on the third story of our building.

Thank you!

Lisa

Mayan Seas
Mayan Seas manufactures kayaks in Mexico. I have paddled their Tobasco double several times and found it a very fast double, yet quite manuverable for kayak its length. You can check out their website at

www.mayanseas.com

No affiliation but I have paddled with the owner a couple of times when he was visiting here in Texas.

Mark

Mark

Tabasco L
Looks like a decent double at 21’9", but I bet it’s not light. Specs page can’t be displayed. http://www.mayanseas.com/tabascoL.htm

Inflatable?
For tropical waters a Sit-On-Top would be good. No sit on top tandm I know of is very light. You might look into an inflatable if you have to drag it up three flights of stairs. I don’t see you doing that with a tandem sea kayak.

folding kayaks
Try checking out Klepper, Folbot, and Feathercraft. They are NOT cheap but have a good rep and you can pack them up and go anywhere… I think they would fit in a car trunk once packed properly.

airkayak
http://www.airkayaks.com/ae1014.html

Question,
How are you going to get it up to the third floor? Will you have a length restriction in a staircase hallway or tight corner to get around? This info could help with making a choice. 2 seater kayaks are very long.You have probably already thought of this, but it reminded me of a friend that purchased a new couch and could not get it up the steps into his apartment.

3rd floor
You are correct. Getting it up 3 flights of stairs presents a challenge. It is tight. What do you suggest?

Thank you,

Lisa

storage
If you’re in Belize City maybe you could find some kind of safe storage for it.

Storage