Kayaking New River Gorge for beginner?

Hey, I’m a beginner to kayak. I have never been on whitewater, but I’ve paddled calm lakes and rivers easily. I bought my first kayak this summer (a crappy Perception 9.5 from Dick’s). It is 9.5 feet.

Basically, I’m looking for a cool place to kayak before I go back to college at the end of the month. Something with really cool scenery. I saw an ad for New River Gorge in West Virginia. From what I gathered, the lower river has difficult rapids, but the upper river is somewhat calm? Anyway, is this an ok place for me to kayak as a beginner? I’m pretty confident, but I’m worried that I’m overly-confident, you know?

If not, can anyone recommend any places? I live in Maryland.

THANKS!

it could be doable, it depends on the
stretch of river and the water levels. I’m assuming your looking to do some whitewater because all the runs have at least a little bit. It also helps to go with some experienced folks, learn to wet exit, and add some float bags to your kayak. wvwa.net has a message board that could help you. Register to check out up coming trips or post when you want to go. You should also get familiar with American Whitewater’s river gauge page as well.

New River

Too late for this year, but for next you should get a copy of A CANOEING & KAYAKING GUIDE TO WEST VIRGINIA.

It’s in its millionth edition, a standard.

Even the 20 miles between the VA line and the Bluestone Lake at Hinton have some ledges that will hurt you when the water is up a bit. Below Hinton do not go without proper experience,gear and company.

Try the upper Greenbrier River, in Pocahontas Co. Scenic, mostly undeveloped and easy to paddle. Prettier and wilder than the New above Hinton.

But when you are starting out more experienced company is always a good idea where ever you go. You’ll avoid falling into a hole and you’ll learn how to paddle.