Kayaking to Cumberland Island (GA)

Looking for input from anyone who has ever paddled to Cumberland Island. I have camping reservations at Sea Camp in September and I’m debating if I want to paddle to the island or just take the ferry. I have zero sea kayaking experience. I’ve been kayaking a dozen or so times on fairly mild stretches of some north Georgia rivers. I’m also too cheap for any guided trips to the island, so I would be going alone. Just trying to get an idea for what I’d be in for. Thanks for any help!

trip
Making a trip, even an easy one, alone with little prior experience isn’t ever a good idea. If something unexpected happens you have no backup.

Bill H.

My wife and I paddled there
there are some very strong tides at certain places.

We had no problems, but if you are a novice, I would advice against it.

Jack L

videos
in Google search and Utube.

Camping from a kayak is more complex than from a backpack … if urnot a kayaker. There are more videos.

There may be a papermill nearby. Find out where and if in operation.

there are biting flies, like deer flies and salt marsh mosquitoes. sharks are off shore and dolphin…if there’s a fish run…check the fishing blogs/reports…then there are sharks n dolphins.

bring binocs for birding and the sharks. a headnet or 2, the ubiquitous brown cotton gloves, thick calf socks, a bandana or 2 for DEET applications.

the tent is noseeum mesh bombproof. lube zippers. bring repair tape. and a qt jug to pee in at night. Good idea to camp near the water n prepare to enter tent at sundown if bugs are out in force. then not get out until sunrise.

I assume if Zika spreads then these opportunities will diminish.

Do not go into the underbrush…
…C.I. is the tick capitol of the universe.

No Paper Mill
In St. Mary’s anymore.

Please don’t.
Open water paddling is not the same as river paddling. Alone, with no experience with the wind and strong tides… too much to go wrong.