Kayaks for a 42# dog

-- Last Updated: Jun-08-16 12:59 PM EST --

Hey! I was just curious if anyone had any recommendations for a kayak that will fit me and my dog? I'm not looking for something huge as I am only 126#'s myself and my dog is a 42# Blue Heeler mix. I am not a newbie to kayaking but it will be my dogs first time.

SOT
I think your dog is large enough that a SIN (Sit Inside) kayak is pretty much ruled out and you should probably look at SOTs (Sit On Tops)…

Take a look at something like the Wilderness Systems Tarpon range…

http://www.wildernesssystems.com/us/products?family%5B%5D=466&activity%5B%5D=472&type%5B%5D=28

RE: SOT
Thank you for the suggestion! I completely agree about a SOT, that’s what I was thinking too. My only concern with some of the ones you shared is her sitting behind me. I think that would be for a more “advanced” canine who is use to kayaking. I could be completely wrong (again, kayaking WITH my dog will be a first for the both of us) and I think she might try (and fail) to get in my lap from behind. I think in the beginning stages it would be best to keep her in front of me at least by my feet.

Don’t forget to get
a PFD for the dog.

I’m not sure I’d ever

– Last Updated: Jun-08-16 3:04 PM EST –

have the dog sit behind me. Lots of good reasons to keep her in front.

But - you're going to get wet. Your dog is going to get wet. Now my dog loves the water so much that he'd rather swim beside me than be on a boat, but that's a lab for you. You have a blue heeler (cool dog!). Does she like water, is she comfortable, have you played fetch or just goofed around in the water with her?