Kayaks for giants (Questions)

I am a complete newbie to kayaking, although I have 50+ years of boating experience.

I am 6’6" tall and weigh 270 pounds.

I’ve “tried on” a variety of SOT kayaks and so far the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 seems to be the best fit. I also like the Current Designs Altura but it’s way out of my price range!

My questions:

• It seems to me that a Sit-in would be more stable, given my fairly high center of gravity, but with my long legs, I don’t think I can fit. Are there any Sit-ins with LOTS of legroom, at a price under $800?
  • For a newbie, is the SOT design safer or more stable? Living i South Florida, I don’t mind getting wet!
  • From what I’ve read, it looks like the total capacity of the kayak should be about 1 1/2 times the weight of the paddler. Is this a good rule of thumb? For me that says I should look for a boat with 400 lbs. capacity or more.
  • What about material? The Hurricane Phoenix series (Lexan) looks pretty in the showroom, but I’m afraid of scratching it easily on sandy beaches or worse (coral). Can anyone who owns one comment on this?

I know that’s a lot of questions - as I said I’m a complete newbie!

Thanks in advance for the help.

Walt

Big and Little sized people both have
looking to do in order to find a suitable kayak. One of the qualities of a “sit-inside” kayak that you will need to consider will be how well your feet fit inside. I have tried to fit 6’4" people with size 13/14 feet into a boat and was hard pressed.

If you are considering any Everglades paddling, the Lexan may not be a good material.

Sorry, but I don’t have any boat suggestions.

Big
Sit-on-tops are generally more popular in warm/warm-water areas. Your perception of stability will probably change with more time on the water.

For sit-insides in your price range, the Wilderness Systems Pungo 140 and Old Town Loon 138 seem to be popular with large folks.

a few choices
but at $800 you’re going to be looking at some funny combos of kayaks.