Kayaks for Large People

I’m 5’9" and weigh 290. I’ve been kayaking for 5 years with a Walden Scout. But I’m treating myself to a new kayak this spring. I want one that is faster, tracks better and is lighter. I’m looking at the Pungo 120 or 140 duralite. But I wonder if there are others to consider too. Something with a large cockpit for easy entry and exit.

I paddle only flat water lakes, ponds and rivers. No whitewater. Calm is relaxing and I like it that way.

Thank you, Larry

Visit a local outfitter
and kayak retailer and ask questions about what they’ve got in stock. Ask what they’ve got that’s suitable for you. Sit in some kayaks in the store that you think you’ll like. Seriously, you’ll know by the fit and comfort if you’re on the right track. Then try the boat on water at the next demo day.

Perception Prodigy 12
If a local place sells Perception kayaks, you might consider the Prodigy 12. It has a very large cockpit, and it might work well for your needs.

We all want
Fast, Lightweight, and Inexpensive.

You can pick two.

At your weight, I would shy away from the 12 footers if you want any speed at all. The Pungo 14 is fine, a Manta Ray 14 or Tarpon 14/16 (getting heavier), or maybe an Aquafusion Liberty which is in the 13 foot range.

If you want lighter and faster, look into the composite boats in the 16 foot range. These get pricey pretty quick, but you can always buy used…

jim

If youy don’t mind spending the big …
bucks, think QCC-500

cheers,

and Merry Christmas,

JackL

Pungo 140
is hard to beat. a pretty unique hull shape, pretty fast and tracks freaaaaal good!

not to bad, ccmfort-wise either. The phase III seat is pretty sweet.

a fairly biased…steve

Agreed on the 140.
I’m 5’ 11" and over the summer I was around 275lbs. The 12’ Pungo was just too short for me. Because of my weight, it was a bear to paddle.

re: kayak

– Last Updated: Dec-26-08 1:19 PM EST –