Kayaks for the landlocked?

I’m a beginner kayaker in the central PA area (State College, PSU). Just over a month ago, I bought a used LiquidLogic Stingray 12 for local flatwater use. It definitely gets the job done as a rec kayak, but I would also like to take advantage of the area creeks and rivers (Spring Creek, Bald Eagle Creek, west branch of the Susquehanna).

My fear is that the Stingray is just too clumsy a boat to handle current well, so I’m starting to look into what type of kayak would serve me better on the local tributaries.

From what I can gather, a full blown touring kayak might be overkill since I’ll only be day-tripping. Besides, at 14’, they might be far too large for some of the smaller channels in my area. A sea kayak, inland, not near a coastline or a massive lake, is also overkill. Correct?

So does a river runner make more sense for my region and desired use? Creek boats and play boats appear to both be geared for activities in which I am unlikely to engage.

PSU outing club
http://php.scripts.psu.edu/clubs/up/whitewater/old/

kayaking rivers…
Check out as many as you can, some ‘sea’ kayaks offer a lot of manuverability… others are made to go the distance with speed.

My experience is only with a Necky Looksha IV, I bought it at a steal of a deal, figuring I could use a ‘big water’ boat sooner or later, or just stay in the middle of the river.

Now I find myself heading into the cypress trees, dodging under logs and branches every chance I get on the river, as it’s such a joy to lean and go.

I’m used to a flat bottom old boat that can spin on a dime, a bit longer than 13’. I don’t take it out much anymore, even on the smaller twisty spring runs, unless I plan on cutting a lot of tree limbs out.

I’ve seen a Dagger Atlantis go up a tiny twisty creek that I would have sworn couldn’t be done. Certainly not by me, anyway. A skilled paddler made it look easy.