keeping my kayak on course

I just purchased a Current Designs Kestrel 140 with rudder yesterday,5/26/07. I took it out on Deal Lake in NJ and noticed that when I didn’t use the rudder it had a tendency to vear to the left. I had to add a few extra left strokes to compensate at times. Since I’m relatively new to kayaking, I’m not sure If my paddling technique is to blame or something more severe is at fault with the kayak? It wasn’t a particularly windy afternoon. Perhaps it was a combination of problems.

I checked the hull of the boat and there appear to be no problems. I don’t want to rely on the rudder unless I have to. I want to perfect my stroke. How can I determine if there is a problem with the kayak or if there is something I am doing wrong.

straight
You can check for weathercocking by paddling in opposite directions with the wind coming from the side. If the boat always turns into the wind, it’s not you.

A constant turn can be caused by many things – being stronger on one side, not holding the paddle centered, unequal reach/flexibility, etc. It’s not unusual for right-handed people to have a left turn when they’re starting out due to being stronger on the right. Some folks also have problems getting both blades in cleanly if they’re using a feathered paddle for the first time. A paddle that’s too long will make any turning tendency worse.

Don’t think about paddling hard yet. Try to work on being smooth and even. Look ahead and make small corrections with stroke pressure as soon as the bow starts to move off course. Try to put the paddle in as far forward as you can comfortably reach, and don’t pull back past your hips.

Enjoy your new boat!

Make sure YOU are centered
Get your butt in the center of the boat. If sitting still make sure the boat is not leaning towards one side.

Check trim/balance