Kevlar hull needs work

Hi all, hoping for some advice: I have a Wenonah sundowner Kevlar, bought used, probably 3rd or 4th hand. It has a what appears to be an aftermarket protection coat on the bottom of the hull. This protection coat was cracked and flaking when I bought it, and has gotten worse over the past several years. The canoe was clearly stored outside for some period of time and there is some discoloration where water has gotten under this cracked protection coat. There are a few Kevlar patches and at least one area that needs to be repaired (2x2” tear just above the water line).

I’d like to remove the protection coat (it’s heavy and non-hydrodynamic), repair anything that reveals itself, and refinish the hull. But I have zero experience with canoe repair; I know my way around a shop and can figure most things out, but no experience doing glass work, epoxy coats, etc.

1. Should I just peel and scrape off the protection coat? Is there a chance of doing damage to the underlying hull? Is there already damage to the existing hull (uv and/or mildew)? What is this stuff that I’m dealing with?

2. I found a number of threads on here and on bwca of folks who have refinished their Kevlar hulls. Seems difficult but achievable for someone with my skills. Does anyone have any ‘best practice’ recommendations? Preferably with step-by-step instructions and pictures?

3. Time is valuable and I’m not necessarily looking for a new life-skill here. Is there anyone in the NY Catskills/Hudson Valley that folks would recommend?

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Oops, pics didn’t upload. Maybe this time?

Working with structural fabrics and epoxy is not really difficult given enough space, time, lighting, and patience, but there are a few tricks to it. A good, free resource to get you initiated in laminate repairs is the System Three Epoxy Book, which you can download here:

http://bristol29.com/Sources/system%20three%20epoxy%20book.pdf