Kevlar paddle

anyone know where I could get a Kevlar bent canoe paddle?

Kevlar?
I’m no expert, but wouldn’t a kevlar paddle be really flexible? Do you mean a carbon paddle?

never seen one
I don’t think they exist. Possibly because carbon is better and not much more expensive when you’re looking at the amount of material used in a paddle. Were you looking for kevlar for some particular reason?

My two old Wenonahs may be kevlar.
Or they may be fiberglass.

I’ve seen a few used bent shaft canoe paddles advertised as being kevlar, but I don’t know it the seller knew what they were talking about. I once bought a plastic tandem kayak that was advertised as a fiberglass canoe.

No, I don’t know where you can get one, unless you want to buy one of mine, but I much prefer the Zaverals to the Wenonahs that I have.

carbon fiber
http://oakorchardcanoe.com/canoepaddles.php

Never seen an all Kevlar paddle. It would not have much abrasion resistance. I would not buy one.

Hard to Do

– Last Updated: Jul-05-09 3:36 PM EST –

Carbon and fiberglass are commonly used in composite paddles because both face laminates can easily be laid over the core and the mold tightened to produce a resin starved edge that is easily trimmed and sanded before going out the door.

Kevlar could be trimmed but the edge cannot rationally be sanded, it fuzzes, so few Kev paddles are currently made.

Iliad and kruger made a few Kev blades in the late 70-s early 80's. I think the blades were resinated oversize and cut with a fine toothed band saw.

Wenonah
use to sell a maxiglide(sp) kevlar paddle. I have one in my garage now. I do not who was the actual manufacturer though. I like the kevlar as a loaner since it is tough and light. The only problem is the grip. It seems to be a plastic or composite and has starter to pit .

Seda of long ago too …
If you’ve got that one glass ply over the kevlar you have a ‘chance’ to get the edge smooth …But don’t go too far … : )