Kevlar stress crack help

Hi all, brand new user online here.

We purchased a souris river quetico canoe this spring. Have spent many wonderful days tripping with it this summer. Unfortunately on our latest trip we were running some river rapids and had a bad run in with a rock and damaged our beautiful new canoe.

I’m a complete novice when it comes to canoe repair. I’ve read some of the repair advice that souris river has on their site, but I’m just not sure what kind of repair is needed here.

It may be too difficult to tell just from pictures, but I’m hoping for some advice on what needs doing.

Option 1 - sand down and reapply new epoxy resin over the damaged area. Revarnish and polish to make it look pretty.

Option 2 - sand down and apply fibreglass patch to outside with epoxy and then varnish.

Option 3 - apply Kevlar patch to inside, fibreglass patch to outside and varnish.

Option 4 - bring it to someone who knows what they’re doing a pay them to fix it.

The canoe holds water and still feels pretty sturdy in that area. I don’t know how intense a repair it needs.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I’m not seeing any torn or cut kevlar. It really seems to be mostly cosmetic looking at the photos. I think the epoxy is scratched and stressed a bit. It’s my understanding that Souris River uses a thermo cure epoxy. There is no varnish. Therefore a repair would be some light sanding and followed by a light coat of epoxy. It’s never going to look new but it can be made to look less obvious. I see no need for a patch since the kevlar is intact.

Thanks for the response. I think I will have a go at sanding and epoxy.

Just make sure not to use coarse abrasives. Lean toward fine and wet sand.