Kid's Kayak

I am new to kayaking (canoe guy) and so need advise. Is the Perception Acadia Scout the only boat designed for kids? I did see one and it seems perfect for my 4 ft 50lb 10 year old. I like the fact that the sides are low and she can reach the foot braces. Thanks.

Tsunami SP might be good
It is rated for paddlers from 60-120, but I am positive it can handle larger or smaller paddlers (in weight). I am not sure how far back the foot pegs can be adjusted though.

If your daughter is too small now, but you/she likes they kayak just through a gallon jug of water in the front and rear hatches and push them up against the bulkhead. I imagine for what she will be doing they will stay in place pretty well - you can always add padding to keep them from rolling round if that is a problem.

Kids are not my specialty but it sounds like your daughter might be in for a growth spurt soon. The SP will be good for at least 15 more inches in height (probably more) and 70 lbs in weight.

Kayaks for Kids

EPI – http://www.emc-epi.com/epi.html (different models for touring and whitewater; also a model for tots)

Kids kayak
I was going to tell you to look at the Piccolo on sale in Mass, but then decided to look up the Acadia Scout - seems like a reasonable choice and the price is certainly good. I saw one at Glacier Bay Sports in NY for $250! At a price like that, it’s hard to go wrong. Don’t forget to use well-fitting float bags.

It’s nice that you are introducing your daughter to a sport she can enjoy forever. I just bought my daughter her first tuilik, after buying her a Greenland kayak a few years ago. It’s been fun to see the progression she has made from pleasure paddler to acquiring some handy Greenland skills.

-Nancy

One more
Carolina 12 XS made by Perception is another choice. It is a little narrower than the Acadia Scout, making it easier to paddle. I would always choose narrower over wider. It will give her more control of the kayak.

-Nancy

building options