Kneeling

Please forgive me if this sounds like a stupid question but I believe the only stupid question is the one that wasn’t asked. I’m new to paddling but have taken a few trips in canoes ten plus years ago. I have a “basics” video I bought with my canoe and I’ve seen tons of “technique” pictures on the net and it seems like all the paddlers are kneeling. I have yet to find a source that explains why though. My guess is that it brings your center of gravity that much lower in the canoe. Am I headed in the right direction? Theres no whay in hell that I’ll be able to paddle on my knees for long even with padding. Can someone point me to some more information about ways to sit/kneel in a canoe? Thanks.

Kneeling takes getting used to
By kneeling, not only are you lowering the center of gravity, you also gain control over the boat.

Generally you have the your butt setting on the front edge of a seat or on a kneeling thwart–that takes some of the load off your knees.

There is also the half-kneel. Sit on the seat, one leg stretched out infront of you, the other curled under the seat with some of your weight on that knee.

I know paddlers that kneel, that sit or switch between the two. Some paddlers that don’t kneel add foot braces to help lock them into the boat.

kneeling

– Last Updated: Feb-19-04 9:06 AM EST –

I find it a lot harder to do now that I'm no longer 18. You're on the right track, though. It lowers your center of gravity, giving the boat a little more stability, and you have more control over the canoe by simply shifting your hips. These days I only do it in rapids or rough water. Try buying a closed-cell foam pad (you can buy them at Galyans) to put under your knees or go to Home Depot or Lowes and get the strap-on rubber knee pads with the foam built in. IMO, There's no reason to be on your knees 100% of the time, but you should be practiced at it. And you should definitely do it in rougher waters.

Got the pads covered.