Knu-Pack portaging system?

I’m a rookie at wilderness tripping, & pretty close to that at canoeing period, but I live near a wilderness area with a nice canoe trail system, so I hope to change that this summer. Most of the lakes in our area are fairly small (avg. -150 acres), and the portages fairly short & numerous (under .5 miles, & 5-7 per easy day).

Neither of my canoes have good portage yokes, & I intend to build some, but was trying to think of a way to use my frame pack (freighter style) to help carry the canoe so I could do single portages when alone. Then I saw the Knu-Pack, & it’s basically what I was thinking of building. Mine would be designed to work with a standard portage yoke so I would have either option available. Does anyone have experience with this type of system, & what are the pros-cons?

Is it worth messing with?

By the way, I’m a semi-old guy (45) with older heavy (75+# tandem canoes).

Thanks in advance guys, this sight is a wealth of information.

Yep. Liked 'um. Investigated 'um. Bought

– Last Updated: Dec-24-05 5:04 PM EST –

'um. Then even before they arrived found Sea Winds Canoes. Liked 'um. Investigatged 'um. Bought 'um. Never used the Knu-Paks as do not need them, can not use them with the specialized Krugers.

They are brand new in the boxes in the basement. They are still here as although I no longer needed them there was no hurry in letting them go either. If you really decide Knu-Paks are for you and would like a good deal e-mail me.

Oh yeah. You should look at fesibilityof back and a 75# canoe on same portage. Generally not a good idea. With Knu-Paks almost all the weight will be trandfered to your hips. They generally do not take it that well. I found this out later from a lot of old timers that tried it, but rejected it for more traditional back packs, yokes, trumph lines, etc.

>:^)

Mick

Portaging canoe weight