Krylon on royalex?

Hey all, I have a 93’ Penobscot 17 that I bought online a couple years ago. I lucked out on the price, especially since I had no idea it was made of royalex when I bought it. I have been thinking about skid plates for it and called old town to ask some questions,hence my question.

The guy at OT said that I could get a can of krypton fusion at a hardware store and touch up any spots where the exterior vinyl had wore through to the abs. I know skid plates are a more permanent solution, but I thought I’d ask anyway. Has anyone heard this? Tried it? I also told him that there was a very small puncture through the outer skin, and he said that they would sell me a repair kit, or I could use any two part epoxy that is safe for plastics. Does that seem right?

I appreciate any feedback.

He’s giving you good advice.
And Kevlar felt skid plates are a crude kind of solution, but many are satisfied customers. I would just paint the thing for the time being, while you work up to doing Kevlar skid plates.

Crude soluton or the solution
Your post makes me curious. My MR Explorer has the white showing through the paint in the bow and I was wondering what to do about it. You call the Kevlar skid plate a crude solution, but mention “working up” to it.

Do you really mean “as a last resort?”

there is a

– Last Updated: Apr-13-15 9:48 PM EST –

thickened compound made for royalex gouges similar to a putty.

There are epoxy wood putties but these may be inferior to Gflex standards or Wenonah/Old Town standards.

Gflex and Glflex folk swear up and down that Gflex and Vinyl get along. So be it.

However there are vinyl adhesives for vinyl and those of us not at the Gflex altar doahn no why...

Could be vinyl adhesives with vinyl microballons is the ticket.

Krylon works on vinyl. Were the expletive deleted fabricating your hull getting a price break on otherwise un useable colored royalex sheets ? Yes paint it.