larger person kayak

i’m new to kayaks and live in western new hampshire.

looking to buy my first kayak for mostly recreational/fishing/day trips on small and med. size lakes. looking in the 13’ range.

i’m 6’ tall and weigh 230 lbs wth large thighs, i’m having trouble with most kayaks i try with hip pads. i just feel crammed in, very uncomfortable.

any suggestions on who has a larger compartment?

Sit on tops…
like the Tarpon 140 come to mind.

The Cobra Fish and Dive is reportedly as stable as an aircraft carrier.

I fished with a guy who is about your size recently. He was fishing from a Mainstream Patriot and did fine with it.

Have you had any opportunity to try a few different boats?

Conventional wisdom is that you try as many different models as is possible before you invest. It’s not always easy to do but it’s good advice. I didn’t so now I’m shopping again.

i’m #300
and i presently own and endorse the loon 111 and 138, walden scout, perception america 11.5. mikey

Old Town 138
I’m 6’2" 230 and paddle an Old Town 138. Mostly day trips/fishing on small to large lakes. The large cockpit on this boat makes it easy to get in and out. Super stable, really comfortable. Lots of room for fishing gear and other cargo. I’ve done overnighters in this boat and had room to spare. Foam filled hull insulates you from cold water. It has reasonable speed (as fast as my Tarpon 160) and manuevers easily. Tough as nails. Old Town makes decent boats. Another option might be the Old Town Adventure XL 139. Or possibly a solo canoe.

Pungo
I love my Pungo and I’m big. I was even bigger before and loved it then. Mine is 14 ft but the 12 foot model might also be a good choice. I’ve used mine for noodling around in small slow streams, big lakes, day trips, fishing, and several night camping trips. Great all around wide body kayak. Good luck with your search.

Diane

PUNGO SECONDED