Latex Neck Gaskets: How Tight is Right??

Hi,

Just got my first dry suit (a Palm Torrent). I have never used a latex neck gasket before (have only used neoprene).

How tight is right?

I trimmed it a bit (put it over a 2 liter soda bottle and carefully trimmed with sharp knife). Cut off about 2 lines.

It is still rather tight. My eyes are not bulging anymore, but still feel a bit of pressure in the eyes from the tightness.

How tight do I need it to be in order to seal right?

I have a size large suit, and have about a 15.5 inch neck.

Is it better to wear the gasket higher or lower on your neck for the best comfort and seal?

thanks

Matt

too tight
If you’re feeling pressure around the eyes, it’s too tight. A properly fitted gasket should feel slightly uncomfortable for about 15 minutes or so and then be perfectly comfortable. You should be able to easily pull the gasket away from the skin at least a little with just two fingers.

For the neck, I tend to wear my gasket lower so that I can more easily turn my head.

Tight enough to hold out the water!..
…Which is not exactly helpful.

Sounds to me as though it’s still a bit too tight.

But I’ve never heard of a good guideline like, “1”

less than your neck size."

Some people claim that stretching them is the best way.

If it was mine, I’d probably trim one more line

off, try it on, etc. it shouldn’t be painful.

Too tight if…

– Last Updated: Dec-30-05 2:46 PM EST –

It's too tight if... you try to burp and it comes out the other end!

Fat Elmo

Good, sound, practical…
…advice we can all live by.

I’d stretch it on a form only one

– Last Updated: Dec-30-05 9:28 PM EST –