layers of materials....

okay so the gel coat is colour for the boat and uv protection…the glass fiber is the stuff holding the boat together…

WHAT IS the layer that keeps the boat waterproof (for a lack of other words in my head at this moment)…

what is keeping the water out while the boat is bobbing 2 miles from shore???

where does the line get crossed about leakage through a crack/hole???

or is a combination of all the layers together???

just trying to wrap my head about this…

rob

I’m no pro
but I’ll shoot-

The fiberglass is “soaked” in epoxy resin. This epoxy resin fills the voids in the glass strands, creating a surface that will not allow the passage of water.

Look at a modern skin-on-frame kayak sometime. It is nothing more than a nylon sheet wrapped around a frame and sewn tight. The nylon is then more or less “painted”, and this creates the waterproof barrier. Fiberglass is much the same but uses layers of fiberglass cloth instead of nylon and the resin to stiffen and waterproof.

Here’s a cross-section of gel-coat and fiberglass from a hole I drilled in a Valley Nordkapp with a holesaw. I was amazed how thin the deck was.

http://tinyurl.com/sxf6y

wow,that’s gel coat
it looks like it’s 1/4 the thickness of the piece.

fiber reinforced plastic
there’s the fiberglass cloth (the fiber) and the resin that surrounds it(plastic). The fiber is strong in tension and the resin is strong in compression. The resin provides a solid waterproof matrix that surrounds the cloth.

The least expensive resin is polyester, the better resin is vinylester. Epoxy is a whole different kind of resin that is less common and has better compression numbers but costs more.

Polyester and vinylester resins are what most folks associate with “fiberglass”. It stinks when new. Epoxy doesn’t stink when new and some people develop sensitivity to the uncured resin.

Epoxy
cheers,

JackL

ooooh, i can’t wait
to start inhaling that epoxy…grin

oh,no