Lean away from the turn? Or toward the turn?

Hi All—another topic inspired by the past few months of my paddling my new-to-me Tempest 170 sea kayak (with a skeg but no rudder).

On the subject of leaning to turn the boat (or to assist in turning the boat), I’d always assumed that the “correct” way to lean is toward the outside of the turn.

But recently, I’ve been experimenting with leaning to the inside of the turn. And here’s the thing: assuming you are doing well-executed (and reasonably strong) sweep strokes, leaning to the outside or the inside of turns both work!

I will say that doing sweeps on the same side you’re leaning toward is a bit easier (so leaning toward the outside of the turn)…but I was able to turn the boat pretty well leaning toward the inside of the turn as well.

I’m no expert in hydrodynamics, but I’ve always assumed the whole point of a lean is to reduce hull length at the waterline, right? So when taking the upward sweep of the bow into consideration, is length at the waterline much different whether leaning to the inside or outside?

Scott in Oregon

3 Likes

Yes. And the kayak design can make it easier or more challenging. Here are some good inside leaning turns:

PS. The kayak one of the Sterling models, which are designed with sharp chines in the middle for carving and a high rocker for more pivoting ease.

-sing

1 Like

I was puzzled noticing the same thing. However, I evetually concluded that it was actually the paddle stroke that turned the boat, regardless of whether the boat leaned or remained flat. Once I improved my ability to hold an edge, by using a hip shifting motion rather than lifting a knee, the refined edge gave more consistent results. The boat turned more efficiently, even without as much paddle input.