left-right feathering angle on paddle

I am new to paddling-my wife asked me a million dollar question.On our Werner Shuna paddle you can feather paddle to left or right angle,what is the reasoning behind this? Ian

Whether left or right handed

– Last Updated: Mar-23-08 12:19 PM EST –

A left handed person (OK - sometimes) has a tough time working with a right-handed feather, and vice versa. In real old school, even lefties were often forced to learn to paddle with a right-handed person's feather. (I have run into coaches for whom) It was eventually found out that lefties had a lot easier time starting out on the opposite feather as a right handed person.
Or you can skip the feathering entirely...

Right hand control
vs left hand control. Those are the terms for it.

When you are paddling you tend to grasp the paddle and turn it with one hand and let it turn in the other. The hand that you grasp and turn it with is the control hand (R or L).

here is a tip (up for debate)
if you have never kayaked before your body doesn’t know what ‘right handed’ or ‘left handed’ means as it relates to kayaking. Basically, you have no skill to compare it to so your body can’t start building on its previous experiences.

Basically the Shuna lets you set the paddle to a wide range of blade angles. That way anyone can by the paddle and they aren’t excluded from buy one because they paddle ‘left handed’.

Control hand and feathering
Most two piece paddles allow at least two feather positions. Some allow nearly infinite. An increasing number of paddlers with whom I intersect are no longer feathering their paddles.

Feathering has been discussed often here. The current thread is: http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=845107#845303

left-right feathering angle on paddle
Ok-that makes sense to me now.Thanks for replies,Ian

Reason for feathering
is to reduce suceptability to wind, the blade that is in the air will be more or less horizontal.