leg and knee placement while paddling

Although, I have been paddling for a few years now, I can honestly say I really never know where the best placement for my legs…straight out? bent? Best adjustment for pegs. I have a Wilderness 12’ Thanks for your input …Mikeb

Hitting a thigh brace if possible
I don’t know this boat - a rec boat? - but in any sit inside kayak you should ideally be able to control it via contact with thigh braces, or your knees, to edge it etc to help in a turn. Granted rec boats or the voluminous cockpit touring boats compromise that a lot, but an effort in that direction is still useful. So the pegs should be set wherever it affords you that contact.

legs bent comfortable
feet at a 45 degree angle in the vertical plane. Adjust to taste. press on the side wher the paddle is active, release on the othe side.

Good article
Read Woody’s Getting the edge at http://www.kayaktrips.net/sea-kayak/cat_things_ive_learned.html

I think he is right about many of us not adjusting the foot pegs out far enough (I’m guilty). I think it’s ok to keep a little bend in my knees, though, but not enough to contact the thigh braces without pressing on my foot. Hmm, maybe that’s part of my rolling problem…

Thanks Woody.

Best Placement
is whereever you can paddle in comfort for hours and yet still be able to effect edging, leaning and rolling.

Depending on which craft I use, my legs can be straight (SOF and one surf boat), splayed (ww boats and one surf boat), or legs straight out but with knees bent up (waveskis). They are all comfortable and all effective for what I need the boats to do.

sing

Bent works best for me
Not only because it puts me more in contact with the boat but it also reduces fatigue and pain in the lower back and thigh areas.

Braces
Thanks for input, just one thing, the Wilderness in an open, open cockpit. Has no braces. Would they be the same as used with a sit on top kayak???

I am a long time recreational paddler