Lesson in paying attention!

I’m fairly new to kayaking and just purchased my first one a few weeks ago. I read these boards and learn a lot about the sport but,nothing is quite like the reality of paddling. I was not paying attention recently as I was paddling towards an empty dock to hold on to to adjust one of my foot pegs. I was on a busy inland lake and did not account for the force of the wake from other craft. My bow got jammed under the dock and the carry handle got stuck - how stupid… I was lucky - even with the water pushing my stern around I could disengage. Guess this is just a reminder to always be alert. Anyone else do anything dumb?

Dumb stuff? Sure.
Like tucking in the sprayskirt loop under the sprayskirt (nearly deadly) or putting my camera case in between my legs only to have it wedge againt my knees firmly enough to entrap me. Knocking the new digital camera into the water was pretty dumb. Bummer was a had a five day trip in the memory. Canoeing down a river with rapids that I knew nothing about was good one. Trying to surf a touring boat in waves that obviously way to big for me to handle was pretty stupid. Fortunately me and boat ended up together on the beach both fully ingested with salt water and sand. Locked my keys in the car once and decided to break my window to get back in. Picked up a rock and threw it only to have it bounce off the window. So I picked up a bigger rock and stepped back a little further and threw the big rock a little harder. Darned thing went through the first window but as it did it bounced of the door frame and it sent itself clear through the window on the other side too. Lots of dumb stuff happening over here. There may be a pattern I suppose. Live and learn.

Sure here’s more
Leaned toward shore in a foot fo water as a six inch wave is coming in (this results in capsizing in one foot of water). forget to bring food an an all day trip (fortunately with a large group of friends). Getting sunburned on the water.