Life Vest for Small Woman

I am fairly new to paddling and have been using a loaner life vest but it is too large for my small frame. I have been waiting for my local store to have its big sale which is occurring this weekend. I went up to try to find a life vest for myself. I am a woman with a small frame (5’3" and weigh 107 lbs. and have a small bone structure / narrow shoulders). I tried on every vest they had and found none that fit. The youth vests they had did not meet the weight criteria as they topped out at 90lbs. I am at a loss for what to do. Included in the vests I tried were several women specific vests including Stohlquist, Astral and MTI. Surely I cannot be the only person to have this issue. Any advice. I have a Wilderness Tsunami 140 so I need a vest with a high back. I am planning on doing long paddling including preparing for the MR340 so I need something that fits well and isn’t going to chafe. Any advice would be appreciated.

If you find a youth vest that fits, the
90 pound weight limit may not matter. Check what the claimed flotation is. Nobody is ever going to check whether you’re wearing a youth vest unless it has “My Little Pony” prints or similar on it. Or even then.

I hope another svelte gal will come along with a specific suggestion. Recent pfds have become a bit bulky in my view, like today’s furniture. My very old Stohlquist Max and Lotus Sherman are more comfortable that the modern equivalents I’ve tried.

Options
Don’t limit your choices to the mesh back versions due to a high back rest. I’m personally not a fan of the super high back trekreational seats but they do adjust back to accommodate the back foam of a pfd. Given that I’d take a look at the Astral Otter. I’ve a number of petite River Connection Paddlers that have found that to be the best fit in a more traditional Type III PFD.