light kayaks for women

At 5’3" and 120 lbs, I’m looking for a light sea/day touring kayak that I can lift on to my Subaru Forest, This means I need to be able to lift the boat at the top of my arms above my head. I’m a beginner so I need something stable, but also a boat I can grow with as I’d like to do weekend trips eventually.

Any recommendations?

Skin on Frame Kayak
Look at http://www.blackdogkayaks.com/touring.html

The Madeline 16 Touring Kayak does exactly what you describe you want, is only $499, and weighs 35 pounds.

Another option
Thule makes Hullavator, sort of lift system for kayaks, here is demonstration www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Pi90FXW4JA

It is not cheap, however gives you access to a wider range of kayaks

light weight kayaks for wojmen
I’m afraid that a skin on kayak will be too delicate. I’m looking for something more substantial.

“Lifting” Boats

– Last Updated: Oct-01-08 12:34 PM EST –

Unless you really hate your back, you shouldn't even be thinking about actually lifting the boat up onto the roof yourself. We have an Outback, similar height to the Forester, and lifting is just not a healthy option for anyone your size. I am 5'4" myself.

You get third party racks with crossbars, if needed for support and SLIDE the boat up and down from the rear. Use a cart to get it into position and between the car and the launch point, a blanket to protect the rear of the car, and one on the ground or a kneeling pad at the end of the boat to protect the stern as it hits the ground.

That means a couple of things, one of which is that a slightly longer boat is your friend because it'll slide rather than suddenly drop on oyu like a really short boat might.