Light touring kayak for fishing

-- Last Updated: Jun-06-05 12:34 PM EST --

Hi! Currently, I'm kayak shopping and looking for recommendations for light touring kayaks that people have rigged for fishing. My paddling is primarily touring with my wife around the saltwater creaks and rivers near Savannah, but I would also like to use it for fishing (trout, reds, etc). I would like to be able to carry gear for overnight trips and don't want to spend more than $1K. The Necky Zoar Sport looks good. Other ideas? Thanks.

First, you have to define “light”-

– Last Updated: Jun-06-05 6:17 PM EST –

the "lighter" you go, the more $$$$. It's basic.
There are many yaks to choose from. Demo, Demo, and did I say Demo? Almost all yaks, whether SIT or SOT, can be rigged for fishing.

Clarification

– Last Updated: Jun-06-05 9:40 PM EST –

Sorry for the confusion, I'm a bit of newb as far as the lingo. By light I was referring to "touring" and not necessarily weight. I am interested in kayak with double bulkheads, width around 24-25" and length around 14-16'. A boat with high primary stability and a roomy cockpit. The absence of a front bulkhead rules out recreational kayaks like the Pungo 140 for me. I'm just curious if anyone uses a traditional sea kayak for fishing and any tips on outfitting, etc. Thanks!

I fish from
sea kayaks, the most stable of which is my Valley Skerray RMX. It’s not “rigged” as I just cast lures. I’ve gotten real used to fishing from it and have had good success on reds, trout , snook and tarpon to 80 lbs. At first, fishing from a sea kayak will feel awkward, but it is a real blast being towed by a 10 lb. red. Have fun and keep us posted.

Sun Voyager might work