Light touring kayak for multiday trips

I’m looking for a kayak that I can use on relatively calm (at most class I) rivers and some lakes in northern MN, with enough cargo space that I can do overnight (2-4 day) trips. I have a lot of experience with recreational kayaks, but most that I’ve used don’t have the space/weight capacity for multi-day camping trips (I’d prefer 350+ lbs capacity). I’m more concerned with maneuverability and stability than speed, as I’ll also use it for birding/fishing. Any suggestions, maybe for a light touring/day tripping kayak?

I was recently looking for exactly the same thing. I demo’d a few yaks in the 12’ - 14’ range at California Canoe and Kayak in Oakland – the Current Designs Vision 135R, the Venture Islay 14, the Wilderness Systems Tsunami 120, and one or two others I’m forgetting. I was leaning toward the Current Designs Vision 135R…until I tried the Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140. Wow. It handles really well, tracks nicely, fit me like a glove, and has plenty of cargo space for camping gear. I bought two of them (used) on the spot.

The Wilderness Systems Tsunamis have narrower cockpits than many yaks of similar length. I am a small guy, so the narrower cockpit is perfect for me. We’ve taken the boats out for a couple of trips already, and I am very happy with my choice.

Good luck.

Thanks! I was looking at the Tsunamis, and thought they looked good except for the narrowness of the cockpit. I’m pretty hefty, so I’m not sure they’d be comfortable for me.