Light-weight boats to stand in?

I’ve been paddling a Wenonah Heron Royalex for several years. Mostly I’m paddling solo (front seat facing backwards) with a 70lb dog in the boat. I’ve taken to standing quite a bit on flatwater (lakes and slow rivers/creeks, going upstream and downstream). I really like the flexibility of being able to shift around from sitting on a seat, standing up, and kneeling when the wind picks up or running a riffle/beaver dam. I’m also working on learning to pole upstream.

The Heron, for all it’s faults (not too fast, bow catches wind), suits my needs well: mostly day trips, the occasional 1-2 night trip with portages, mostly solo (+dog) but sometimes tandem. However, it’s on the heavy side, especially since I’m short and I heft it onto my car top a lot. I keep drooling over pack boats and solo canoes because of their weight, but are there are solo canoe or pack boats that folks are standing up in? (Not ‘you could probably’ but ‘I do it all the time for extended periods’ please).

A paddle board has been suggested to me repeatedly when folks see me paddling standing up. I’ve never tried it, but went with a canoe when I bought the Heron because 1) the dog is clumsy 2) packing overnight gear 3) I try to paddle 8-12 months of the year, depending on the winter, and I imagine it’s easier to stay warm and dry in a canoe. That said, I’m not ruling it out as I start to see paddle boards with seats, room for overnight gear, etc.

I’m really new to this it is my first season with a canoe and I bought a used OT Guide 147 and was having a lot of the same issues you talked about using it in similar ways.

I started moving the seating around trying to get me in a better position than sitting backwards from the bow seat but still keep it a tandem and not have to haul a lot of ballast to trim it out.