Lightning

I am relatively new to paddling (sea kayak) and I live in Utah. Not a whole lot of water–mainly lakes and big rivers with flat sections.

Anyway, during the summer, Utah is plagued with thunderstorms, as are lots of other places, but what I would like to know is what do you do if you’re on the water when a storm threatens and shore is a long way away? Worse (in my opinion), what do you do if the closest shore is a cliff with no beach, just a rock wall–like Lake Powell?

Thoughts?

Just keep paddlin’ and don’t worry
I do it all the time besides when God decides to come get you…he always knows where to find you.

Paddlin’ on

Richard

not much you can do
unless of course you are close to a sailboat—might want to get real close so the lightening strikes the sailboat and not the kayaker—other than that get to shore as quick as you can.

You shouldn’t be in that
situation. Thunderstorms don’t just appear, they buildup over several hours. You should check wx (weather) forecast for the area and be observant of developing conditions. Thunderstorms not only produce lightning but strong,gusty winds. All of which are hazards to be considered.

Get serious. First, it is often not
possible to predict development of thunderstorms. Second, if we all could do such a prediction, and could stay home and avoid thunderstorms, we would cancel out about half of our paddling careers. Thunderstorms are a part of everyday life, unlike hurricanes and tornados.

The risk of being struck by lightning while paddling on lakes or rivers is evidently not that high. I know of only one case in the SE where a kayaker was zapped (not struck dead on) while out in the middle of a wide river. I know of no deaths, and anyone can look back through American Whitewater records to check. I DO know of an instance on the Chattooga where people got out of their boats, cowered on the rocks, and were zapped lightly.