loading a heavy canor

I’m a 57-year-old beginner who bought an Old Town Discovery 169 that my wife cannot help me to load on top of the car. Thirty years ago I was able to load a lighter boat (Mohawk 16’) singlehandedly. Can anyone give me a written tutorial on how to go about getting this canoe on my shoulders. I can’t seem to do it. Maybe I’m just no longer strong enough.

almost my first boat
until I went to pick it up. That’s a heavy boat, Dale. I have a 72 pound Swift Dumoine I handle fairly easily, but it goes on truck racks, which is probably easier than your car. Good luck, hope someone can help, especially difficult I’d imagine if your car has a trunk.

This is how I do it
http://www.redrockstore.com/canoelift.html

I’m 50, in reasonably good shape and I feel it lifting my 75 lb Explorer this way. I throw the boat from the knees and catch it on my shoulders . Be sure you can do that without getting hurt!

The 169 lists at 85 lbs. I’d guess that’s opimistic.

The other way is to lift one end and walk under it.

That’s what I do

– Last Updated: May-30-08 1:15 PM EST –

is lift one end, flip canoe so thwarts are down, then "arm walk" my way backwards until my shoulders are at the portage thwart. Where I see a potential issue is setting the canoe down on a low car roof. Face plants into the trunk may have ya' dreaming of kevlar real quick. If your wife could hold the back of the canoe up while you extricate yourself from under the canoe after getting it as far forward on the car as possible, that'd be a big help. Leveraging is a key.

Just did a search. I think this would help you a lot, placing the forward part of the canoe on here and sliding it forward.You'd have to rig an extension as it's only 20" wide, maybe c-clamp a 2x4 around 4' long.
http://www.prolineracks.com/fulton-cc1-canoe-loader.html
They have a couple wider racks
http://www.prolineracks.com/hitch-mount-boat-racks.html

that might be a good method for