Log Book

A newbie here - Trying to keep track of things. Anyone have good log book ideas? Make your own? Format? Relevant data?

Thanks

Spreadsheet
I developed a spreadsheet that works nicely. It lets me keep a running total of miles and time, as well as put-in and take-out info, water temp, wind speed and direction, wave height, and general observations.

Gauge
You didn’t say if you are paddling rivers, lakes, or sea.

On rivers, it is a good idea to keep track of the level. One of the many fascinating things about paddling is how even though you may go to the same location, it is almost always different. Rivers can take on quite different characteristics at different water levels. So be sure to note the level among your log notes.

~~Chip

log hatch cover
I started writig on the inside of my hatch cover where and when using a silver marker for the valley hatches and a black marker for the QCC hatches…

There’s one for sale on this site

– Last Updated: Apr-27-07 12:35 AM EST –

Paddling journal, made for use around water (the ads used to say ink would not wash off, not sure if that's still true), $19.95

http://www.paddling.net/store/showMisc.html

My log
After each paddle, I download the trail from my GPS to a map and enter all pertient data (date, put-in/take-out, times, wind speed and direction, temps, sky conditions (stop and stop). Also include whom I paddled with and what was observed. This is then printed out for a permanent book I keep and I also e-mail a copy of the page to all particpants (they love “that touch”.)

Any day on the water is a great day

Cal

Ah’ never use a log

– Last Updated: Apr-27-07 8:58 AM EST –

tis way, if ah' dun't remember de details, it be easier fer me ta make up tall tales later ta tell folks.

FE

Same as the first Post. USGS gives
water temp, stage and flow info down to the miniute. I don’t use GPS but Google Earth for distances.

The log has helped me a lot, to see trends and weaknesses. I record the data on Excel.