Long distance? Short distance?

Hi,

I’m a newbie (well not even a newbie yet, I’m still in the process of trying to find the suitable kayak for me) and I’m a little confused with some very simple terms - namely, what is short distance and what is long distance in kayaking? I know this might sound a stupid question, the reason for asking is that I haven’t been sitting in a kayak since I was about 8 years old, so I haven’t got a clue. I’d use my kayak for freediving-spearfishing, so I’m planning to buy a sit-on-top. And when I have to choose between a long/thin kayak or a short/wide one, I can only find out from everywhere that the long one is more suitable for long distance paddling/touring as it is faster, and the short one is more stable but recommended for short-medium distances only.

I’d surely appreciate the stability and perhaps surfing ability of a shorter one, but I’d like to paddle out to some small islands that are 3-4 km offshore, and come back of course… I guess the maximum distance I’d like to cover within one day would be about 12-15 km, the average being about 4-6. So what kind of a kayak do you think would be suitable for this? What is the average speed of long/thin kayaks like an ocean kayak scupper pro, (I mean the speed that is comfortable for an average person for longer periods) and what about a shorter-wider one like an ocean kayak scrambler? (I mean like around 2km/hour or 4 or what?)

With a long touring kayak
you can easily paddle 20 miles or more in a day.

With a short fat SOT I would think seven or eight or less would be a long paddle for you.

Just my take !

cheers,

jackL

long and short, wide and narrow,