Long Kayak Trip

I am relatively new to kayaking and me and a couple of my friends want to do a long kayak trip. About how many miles can we make it on flat water, there and back in about a week.

What sort of water? And you realize
the answer must be modified in light of conditions that pertain at the time.

impossible to answer precisely
it’s going to depend on your physical & mental ability and stamina, types of boats being paddled, weather/wind, tides, etc.

generally speaking, 10-15 miles a day is easily doable.

Two words
Guided trip.

trip
Depends on who is paddling.

How far can you paddle in one day without being completly wore out at the end? Use that as a gauge for multiday paddles.

In solo boats, my wife and I can cover at LEAST 26 miles of flatwater in 5-6 hours. A little less if the wind is against us. More miles if we are in a tandem. Less miles if we are with a group.

But we do long paddles every weekend, so we’ve built a little bit of endurance.

I think the 10-15 miles previously mentioned may be right on the button for you.

For a multi day trip I would also suggest that you plan to finish 2/3 of your total trip distance in half of your aloted time. This will give you a time buffer to make up for any unexpected delays.

Do at least one long day trip first
Go out and paddle a 15-25 mile day trip in the boat you plan to take on your long trip, and see how you feel the next day. Get the boat out on the water the next day, and paddle a few more. That will give you a better idea about what you can handle, and if you are in the right boat.

Setting off on a multi-day kayak trip without spending some serious time in your boat is like deciding to run a marathon in a new pair of shoes. A potentially very bad idea.

Long Trip?