Long Road Trip w/kayaks...

I am planning on a trip from New England to Florida and would like to take my new P&H Capella173 and a Pungo120 for my wife. I am taking my F-150 with recently installed Thule adjustable racks. My question is this…what is the definitive (if it exists) wisdom for carrying these boats on a long highway trip? Right side up or upside down?

When I’ve put my plastic boats on the roof for local trips, they are always right side up. This is my first time traveling this distance and with a composite boat. When the boats are on the rack, the bow of the Capella sits just behind the vertical plane of the top of the windshield. The pungo bow sits well back and over the roof. I tie the Capella down at the bulkheads fore and aft, as indicated.

I have the availability of a 14’ Necky Zoar Sport in florida but really want to paddle my new boat, and if I’m taking one, two is just as easy.

Any thoughts on boat loading from veteran Road Dogs?

Thanks.

Ralph

Right side up for me
or on the gunwhales in J cradles (I have one set of each on my roof).

Most composite kayaks are stronger in the hull than the deck, and usually easier to carry right side up. That said, I do know people that carry them upside down, and seem to have no problems.

I’d suggest that you carry them like you always do, and use cockpit covers. No difference between a long trip and a short trip, IMO.

bare racks?
It’s not clear to me from your post whether you’re using any sort of cradles. I carry composite boats on my bare rack (with pipe insulation) hull-down fairly often, but not for long road trips. You can only tighten a composite boat so far on a bare rack before it starts to bend the deck. It’s fine for a 30 minute car-pool to a local put-in, but not for a cross-country trip, IMO.

I’d get some foam kayak carrier blocks for your boat. Or spring for a J-cradle, if you can deal with the height. (It can be a stretch using a J-cradle on top of a big pickup.)