Long Texas Trip?

Hello Everyone,

I am totally new to paddling but I am the type of person that loves a goal to shoot for while I am trying to get better at something. A friend and I are very interested in a long haul paddling trip in Texas. Something that will difficult from and endurance standpoint where we have to cover a certain amount of river in a certain number of days, where we could camp along the way. Also given that I am relatively new to this, I would prefer a river that won’t try to kill me. Looking online I have only really found short trails for day trips. Does anyone have any suggestions for something like this in or around Texas?

https://www.texaswatersafari.org/course-description/

1 Like

Big Bend National Park has some options

TPWD: | Texas Paddling Trails. The Lower Colorado East of Austin has several trails that can be combined into a multi-day trip. The section of the Brazos serviced by this outfitter is supposed to be a great trip as well. Trips — Rochelle's Canoe Rental

I don’t think Big Bend is for the beginner - talk about remote. I can vouch for the Colorado - the stretch from Austin down to La Grange especially is very nice. I’ve done it as a series of single nighters. Easy access, some great camping sites, and it won’t try to kill you (unless you ask it to).

2 Likes

I agree that the Rio Grande River through Big Bend NP is challenging. There are some serious canyons and a lot of remoteness.

Yes. The Colorado River is your obvious long distance choice. Much closer to where most people live. Easier to re-supply, much easier to paddle. You will have some dams to carry around. Good Luck.

Since you are new to paddling, first take an ACA lesson or two & learn how to paddle. The paddling skills you are introduced to will make your long haul trip much easier, more enjoyable, & safer.

1 Like