Looking at an old canoe - Curtis Vagabond

I’m in the process of trying to sell my Wenonah Kingfisher and getting a solo canoe suitable for daytripping on calm lakes and rivers, maybe some very light rapids, but nothing technical. All I need is enough room for a backpack, light fishing gear, and a 10 lb. dog. I do canoe 1-2 times a week, so she won’t be a garage queen. I was considering getting something like a Wenonah Wilderness or Esquif Echo, but a listing on Craigslist for a Curtis Vagabond caught my eye.

It was manufactured in 1989 and looks to be in great condition from the pictures. In doing some research, Curtis/Hemlock makes great canoes and it sounds perfect for me, but I don’t know enough to make a decision on buying a 30 year old canoe vs new. I was hoping someone could give me insight on what I can expect in terms of durability especially with wood gunwales which I have no experience with. Thanks!

1 Like

It’s a great boat and you should go buy it. It’s quick and cruises efficiently. There is typically no issue at all with a 30 year old boat unless it has been stored outside in the sun and weather since water will rot wood if the wood is left dry and unprotected (with oil or varnish). The construction quality of the Curtis boats is arguably every bit as good (or better) than the best boats on the market today. Many older boats clean up to “like new” with just a good scrubbing and a quick light sanding and oiling of the wood.

I think the main practical questions are your total weight (note the catalog saying it’s best if kept to 225-250 total) and whether you plan to kneel. The seat will probably be set up (high) for kneeling and kneeling adds stability so if you plan to sit instead of kneel then you’d likely have to lower the seat to keep it from feeling tender since it is a narrow boat.

You can even call the builder (Dave Curtis) at Hemlock Canoe (www.hemlockcanoe.com) with any questions since he’s a great guy.