looking at canoes and kayaks

I know these get asked a ton of times, but I’ve not found one that addressed my questions.

I’m a complete novice with virtually no options to test any canoe or kayak before buying. I live in the panhandle of Oklahoma where there is little water for testing.

I’d like to buy a small portable boat for fishing small ponds and lakes in Oklahoma, Texas and New Mexico. I’m 5’9", 195 lbs. I have a bad back and am afraid of most kayaks weight for loading on top of my car. I have had a float tube, but my back couldn’t handle the lack of support and thought maybe a canoe or kayak would be a more supportive option. Additionally, we have quite a lot of wind in most of the places I would be fishing.

Canoes are much lighter than most kayaks. If I understand correctly, kayaks are affected by the wind much less than canoes. Also, the kayaks are maybe a little more stable for a novice to stand and fish out of. Canoes offer a larger area for cargo while fishing.

I’ve looked at pack canoes, fishing kayaks, solo canoes. If you were looking for something easy to paddle for recreation and fish out of, fairly lightweight and portable with a comfortable, supportive seat that could buck some wind, what would you buy?

I looked at the Feel Free Lure 11.5 and am interested, but I’m afraid at 75 lbs, it will be too hard to put on the roof of my Expedition or Jeep.

OT Pack and others
I much prefer to fish out of a canoe than a kayak. It’s more versatile. If you are looking for a truly light weight canoe you are going to need to go with a kevlar or similar material and that will cost you. Royalex and plastic hulls are generally pretty heavy.

You don’t say if you will always be fishing alone, or if you will sometimes with a partner. That is important. You really can’t paddle a solo canoe with another person, but many tandem canoes are easy to paddle solo.