Looking for Kayak Recommendation

I’m new to Kayaking but I’ve been wanting to do it for a long time. I live in West Virginia where there are plenty of rivers/Lakes/Streams to paddle in.

My main areas of interest are fishing, lake paddling, and moderate whitewater up to maybe class III but probably more class I and II.

I have an extremely small budget. All gear less than $700. I’ve been to the big box stores like Cabelas, Dicks, etc and I’m not real sure what I should get. I’d like something on the smaller side of things for storage purposes. I was thinking maybe a Perception Swifty or Old Town Vapor.

Will either of these boats fit my needs and be able to handle light whitewater?

Be careful trying to mix
your whitewater boat and your flatwater boat. That kind of compromise usually results in a boat that is sort of crappy at both. If you only want to spend a pretty limited amount of money, decide which one you want to spend the money on, and get the best you can of kayak and equipment for that type of paddling.

A boat designed to be good for class II-III whitewater sucks at paddling across a lake, but it’s possible and can still be enjoyed. A boat designed to be good for paddling across a lake sucks for whitewater, but it’s possible and can still be enjoyed.

Look at used beaters

– Last Updated: Jul-17-09 2:30 PM EST –

Boats like the Swifty will drive you crazy on a lake because it's so slow, especially in wind, and in WW has been made to work but has some pretty serious risks for a novice like a huge cockpit that can fill with water and pretty limited control in moving water. As in pretty unsatisfactory. So you won't be able to actually do much of the fun stuff, just bob along.