Looking for some suggestion Erie Canal

I am looking for some suggestions for paddling places near Albany so we can paddle the canal and go through a couple of locks. Where are some good places to put in near there. We have never gone through locks and would just like to try it and paddle that area.

Thanks

I live farther west
so I can’t give you a perfect answer, but I did learn about locking through this past weekend. I went from Palymra to Clyde NY.

I have never done it before and I admit I was a little intimidated by the whole process, so I decided to portage instead. I did stop and talk to the lock keeper though. He said they don’t mind opening the lock for one or two kayaks. I was concerned with wasting energy to open and close the lock gates, but he said even the gates are gravity driven, so it does not waste any energy at all.

He said to just call the number on the sign as you get close to the lock, tell them you are in kayaks and they will give you directions. I have heard from a lot of people that you want to take some old gloves to hold onto the cable with too. I guess it gets pretty nasty.

Locking thru is fine

– Last Updated: Jul-01-10 8:59 AM EST –

We are from the Capital District. To start, you can lock thru either the Erie (on the Mohawk River) or the Champlain Canal (Hudson River north of Troy). The Erie is probably easier though in terms of launch points that don't have gates that close if you are running late. And an easier drive for you.

You want to drop in west of the five main "big steps" that start in Waterford and initiate the Erie Canal, just because it takes a long time to get thru them and that's all the paddle will be about. Plus you might find yourself in more crowded company.

I'd say your best bets are: