Looking for suggestions for solo canoe

I am looking for a solo canoe. Let me tell you a bit about myself - I have 40 years of paddling experience in a variety of canoes, kayaks and types of water. I currently am a big guy, going about 280 lbs, and I live in northern Pennsylvania where the two branches of the Susquehanna River meet. For this reason, I will be paddling both upriver and downriver and I want a canoe that is fairly effecient. Right now, I am considering either the Wenonah Encounter or the Wenonah Voyager and am leaning toward the Encounter simply because it is a bigger, ergo wider, canoe. Any suggestions or experiences you could share would be appreciated. Thanks.

Mark Hagy

Sounds like
you like hard tracking boats to me. I love we-known-nots but if you get a chance try Grasse Rivers xl classic solo, and Savage Rivers Otegan . Both are great sit and switch boats. If you have any wood working ability you might want to try the 38 special from north west canoe shop. It is the scaled up version of My Merlin Which is also a hard tracking canoe. I do not know how soon you are planning on buying, but on Memorial weekend there should be both the Grasse River and Savage River available for paddling at Bainbridge New Yorks General Clinton Park.

Re
Hi, Im in Phila, IM 6 FOOT and 280+ … i have and love a 16 1/2’ wenonah prism in UL kevlaR…

i have over 5000 hard river miler on her, and shes held up great, has great lines, tracks straight, “Bi-otch” to turn hard, and is sleek and fast. she will glide forever! also handles the weight fine… i overload it a bit with full expedition gear and food, 5 gal water, dog food, 50lb dog…but its all good… never had a problem… loaded it handled 3-6 foot rollers, 2-3 foot breaking rollers, huge areas of boiling water, bathtub chop 2-4 foot high… with little trouble

i also paddle w a doublebladed canoe paddle…