Looking for the right Kayak

Hello,

I’m brand new to Kayaking. What is a good quality kayak for me. I’m 6’0" 220lbs. I want a good blend of stability and tracking. I’m looking to spend up to $2,500

Thanks,

Jeff

You are going to have everyone …
throw the brand that they have at you.

Your best bet is to get to some demo days, or to a outfitter that rents yaks and try a bunch out.

Another way is to see if you can find a paddling club near you, and try to hook up with them to let you try some of theirs out.

jack L

For that kind of investment…

– Last Updated: Aug-22-10 7:33 PM EST –

agree with above. Go demo, rent boats and/or even get a couple of basic lessons so you can figure out what boat attributes really work for you. For that kind of initial investment you can get a very nice boat, paddle and basics especially if you go used. Or you can make a darned expensive mistake by getting into a boat that you'll find doesn't fit the bill after a little seat time.

Right off the top - it is quite usual for a new paddler to go for a level of stability that just bores the tears out of them by several weeks in. Also, at your size there are boats from every brand that could do you nicely.

Oh yeah! $2500 will get you a NICE boat
with all the goodies. Where are you and what kind of water are you planning to be in?

New vest and paddle, used boat
Personally, on that budget, I would open the wallet wide and start by buying an excellent, lightweight foam-core carbon fiber paddle and the most comfortable pfd available, then look for a good used glass boat.

Everyone’s taste seems to progress rapidly in the first few years of paddling, meaning you want to move on to different boats. A used boat can often be sold for 90% of what you paid for it, so a used boat is almost like a long-term rental, as long as you take care of it.