Lowrance GPS

I have had a Garmin gps for the truck for years. Now I am looking for one for the canoe and my wife wants to do some geocaching. I am looking at a Lowrance H2O-C a salesman said they sell more of these than any other hand held gps. Is this a good choice? Thanks Marvin

Happy with mine …
I’m no expert on the topic, but I’m happy with mine. I bought it based on feedback I saw here on Paddling.net and other places. I did find it tough to figure out at first. The menus didn’t seem intuitive and I still have to “re-remember” things if I haven’t used it in a while (i.e. where is the menu item that lets you save your trips to the SD card to move to a computer or other device). It really helped to read the manual, something I seldom do. Even then, I mucked it up my first time out and didn’t manage to save the trips I took. But after that, it’s worked well and consistently for me. I wish it came with a better set of maps. Apparently, you can upgrade, and there are some free maps you can save to the SD card and load into the Lowrance, but I kinda think you shouldn’t have to upgrade to get highly detailed maps on a GPS.

If you’re interested in using it to upload your trips to your website, I posted the following note on how I did it (and continue to do it).

http://www.opposable-thumbs.com/?p=651

I like mine a lot
I use mine on the coast with the excellent Nautic Path (Lowrance) maps. These are the nautical maps of the entire US for $70, as opposed to buying an unlock code for for each 100 mile area from Garmin. You will have to check for Canada maps.

I also have a mac and haven’t uploaded anything to the computer with the Lowrance.