Mad River Explorer 16.5' from 1984

Hi, I am new to canoes and want to purchase this one for my husband to take our young kids fishing on the lake and light recreational use. Is this a good canoe for that and fairly priced? Thank you for your help!
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/320854945610528

1 Like

A great boat. The price is steep. I would start around 1200.

Yep. Great boat! Too high on the price. At the very least, see if the seller will include paddles and PFDs.
BTW, your husband is a lucky guy!

I agree with the above comments. I have a 1985 kevlar Explorer, and it’s a great boat. Unfortunately, with everyone seemingly discovering the outdoors this summer, good boats are at a premium and it’s a seller’s market. It looks to be in good shape, and it’s a boat that you can paddle as a family for many years to come, so spending a little more is easier to amortize in the long run.

Thank you, would you consider $1400 with aluminum paddles acceptable? Here is what he said has been replaced:
“I installed 2 new seats with the modern webbed kind instead of the original cane. I replaced the thwart with a carry yoke. I caulked 2 small area about the size of a nickel under the end guards that were a little soft, so I treated with wood stabilizer, filler, and sealant. Thats it, otherwise its original.”

The boat appears to be in very good condition. The age though always concerns me because we don’t know how much exposure the canoe has had to UV exposure. This boat is 36 years old. You can get some idea about how much life is left in the lay-up by pressing on it lightly with your fingers.

That is a nice canoe, nicer than the ones I usually buy. I would not spend $1400 for a canoe that old, but it is probably close to the market price. Forge ahead if you like it, just realize there is some risk in buying old canoes.