Mad River Explorer 16 Cracked Hull

Hello, this is my first post here so please excuse me if this question has already been asked.
I’m looking at purchasing a used Mad River Explorer 16 Royalex, but there is a vertical crack in the hull. Can this be repaired? If so, how?

Second pic of hull crack.

Hard to figure how they happened. Blunt force trauma.
Repairing Royalex is tricky. I would be tempted to just fill the crack with marine epoxy thickened with microballoons from both sides.

I’m not an expert just an interested observer.

It looks like the crack propagated from the screw between the two halves of the gunwale. Most likely then the blunt force trauma acted on it.

If the price is good because of the damage I would buy it and do a repair.

I would be tempted to drill a hole slightly past the end of the crack as a method of stress relief that the crack wont grow more. Then I would do as suggested above only with adding a thin patch over the area on the inside and then filling both the crack and hole from the outside with an epoxy. Maybe a little touch up paint on the outside as well.

The pros can tell me if I’m wrong.

If I owned that canoe, I would try the methods mentioned.
If I were looking to buy, I would run.
There are great deals on used canoes out there that don’t need repairs that may or may not work well.

That’s right we don’t know the overall condition, price or if there are lots of similar canoes as good deals in the area. I just paid 150 bucks for a OT Guide 147 poly canoe that was in nice shape and 10 years old. I thought that was a great deal and I see nice 16’ canoes going for around 500 and cheap 16s for 300.