Mad River Synergy 12 / 14

I guess these are considered to be canoes, although they look like very deep sit on top kayaks to me.

My questions is, why no scupper holes? Do you just keep sponging the water out of it? I’m not experienced at canoes - maybe that’s what they do.

I’m looking for something to take on short camping trips where I have to carry my gear in the boat. Anybody tried this (12 or 14)? I’m leaning towards the 14 but would like to try it first. Thanks.

I forgot to mention

– Last Updated: Sep-23-07 1:48 AM EST –

I plan to keep all my gear in drybags so I don't really care about the lack of dry storage. I did an archive search and found some talk about that, and about possible quality problems with Mad River.

I probably should just test paddle one if I can find one locally. Still, any comments are welcome.

synergy

– Last Updated: Sep-23-07 5:09 AM EST –

First let me preface this with the fact that I have never had a boat with a rudder and the time I have paddled one in minutes can be counted on one hand.
I loved the synergy boats. I tried them out in 4 star conditions in Charleston on a very windy and cold day and found the 12 footer to be a hoot for surfing waves and bouncing around. The 14 I paddled for a couple of minutes and liked it a lot but again the rudder felt alien to me so I went back to the 12 and had some real fun. I would imagine the 14 woudl be the same without a rudder. (please don't take this as a bash against rudders...just my lack of experience with them)
Even in those conditions, the boats did not take on much water and a sponge woudl take care of that with no problems, very stable, very fun to paddle, and being a lightweight camper, I see no problems loading up in dry bags enough for a weekend trip in the 12 and possibly longer in the 14?
Now I have always been a proponent of longer faster better tracking boats but I gotta tell you that 12 footer....