Making a Greenland Paddle

This past weekend my wife and I paddled the Keweenaw Peninsula for the first time with our friends Dave and Kathy and son Tom, who all paddled with Greenland paddles. I tried their paddles during the weekend, and found each one handled differently for me. Their paddles were all quite different from each other too! I always thought there was some secret formula that had to be adhered to in the construction of these little sticks. Dave emailed me some directions on how to build a paddle, and after being frustrated for a half an hour of reading, I threw the plans on the floor in my shop and just got started.

Overall length, loom length, width of blade and loom, and you’re good to go pretty much. The directions said these dimensions were all personal for each paddler. So armed with this info I started drawing out the paddle on my $23.00 western red cedar 2X4 I purchased at a specialty wood supplier. The first cut through the band saw was a little scary, but it was all down hill from there. I used a band saw, a power planer, belt sander, a real sharp, low angle, 6" block plan, and an orbital sander. After a couple hours of cutting and planing, and an hour of hand sanding my stick was done. I soaked it under the hose to raise the grain. Then I let it dry before sanding again and putting the first coat of tung oil on.

The next day I took my little paddle for a test.

I love it! Maybe the loom will be a little shorter on the next one, and the inner 1/3 of the blade a little thicker, but it paddles like a dream.

I guess my main reason for posting all this is to try and help people to get started on making a paddle, if Greenland is the way you want to go?

It sure aint rocket science! Read what you can about how to choose the right dimensions for your body type, and it really helps to try someone elses paddle too. And you certainly don’t need all the power tools I used. They just make the job go faster.