Mako XT vs. Think Evo

Is there somebody out there that can comment on the comparison of the Xt ($1,800) vs. the Evo ($2,400)? I’m looking at the fiberglass models and wonder about the speed, stability, built quality, etc? Can you please help!

Evo
I paddled the Evo recently and it felt tippy but I’m new to surf skis so I guess the fact that I didn’t fall off means its relatively stable. The quality looked very good. Have not paddled an XT but you may want to contact DeAnne Hemmens at Oceanpaddlesports.com. She’s a pretty fair ski paddler and she carries both Fenn and Think boats so she could give you the lowdown on how they compare. There is a review on the Think website.

http://www.thinkkayaks.com/blog/

nesurfski
just did a review of the evo, has some comparision talk with the xt.

www.nesurfski.net

Hi talqinpaddler
It’s funny that you should ask. We had both boats together last week. I was picking up the Think from Ben Lawry (P&H) and taking the Think to Bruce Gibson (Venturesport).

The Think is faster, drier, and, I think, more stable. It’s standard layup was ten pounds lighter than Ben’s wife’s XT.

Bruce Gibson just got the one I took to him. Go on the website and look for Venturesport. Bruce is a great guy. He can give you the scoop on both boats as he is now a dealer for both.

Hope that is helpful.

Good luck!

Franklin

My Wife picked the Evo
Franklin,

Before I had a chance to read your reply, we made a long trip from Tallahassee to Boca Raton … my wife (mini) test paddled the XT and the Evo side by side. I think she fell in love with the looks of the Evo before we went on the trip and she tried much harder … I did not have to ask which one she wants.

I could pull all kind of stunts all weekend … I could not get this big smile of her face since we bought that boat = PRICELESS. The Evo is her first SurfSki coming from a 21" wide sea kayak.