Mallard canoe

So I’m very new to canoeing, as in, I’ve rented grummans from the state parks on a few occasions, and duck hunted out of one one season. But I recently purchased a canoe that is in quite nice condition. It has a sticker on the side that says mallard marine inc. New Haven CT. I can’t find any info on this. It’s 17’, not a flat back. It’s fairly heavy but not obscene. Paddles nice it seems. Quiet and stable. But the big reason for the canoe is there’s a park in state that has remote camp sites only accessible by non motorized boat. So I’d like to know the carrying capacity. Will likely be myself and 2 or 3 kids. Tent, small grill. Maybe a small bit of firewood. Would also be interested in any general info anyone may have on the canoe or mallard as a whole.

Also, how do you go about selecting a proper paddle? For lack of knowing any better I purchased two $11 Kmart specials just to give it a go. They’re 46" and anything but great. But they moved the boat nonetheless.

Thanks in advance.

A picture or serial number might help. There is a manufacturer named ‘Mallard Marine’ on the USCG MIC website, but not in CT, in Oregon. Does the serial number on the canoe contain the letters ‘OYN’?

I don’t seem to find a serial number. Currently don’t have a picture available. I will get one soon. The seats are molded into the hull. The rear seat is one piece so to speak. There is no gap from the read to the seat. I know there’s a mallard marine in oregon that builds duck boats. But it is not the same company.