Manitou 14 v. Eliza

Hello - I am fairly new to kayaking, I have been on three 5-day trips off the coast of Maine and in the San Juan Islands, WA. I would like to get more into paddling and am looking into buying a kayak. I am a very petite woman at just under 5 ft. and 100 lbs. I’m looking for a boat that is good for a quick spin, but that also has the room to be able to take out for a few days at a time.

I was looking at the Necky catalog and realized that the Manitou 14 and the polymer Eliza are similar in weight and length, but that the cockpit of the Manitou is considerably larger. This is probably a VERY stupid question for all you experienced paddlers, but if the width of the cockpit isn’t that different between the two, and the real difference is the length of the cockpit, does this matter a lot for a small person? The reason why I ask is because I have found a great deal on the Manitou, but don’t want to buy it unless it will be good.

Also, measurements are given for the hatches, but no storage capacity. It appears that the Manitou might have more storage, even though it is listed as a day tripper?

Are there any other recommendations that you might have? I am not looking to spend more than $1300 tops. The whole rudder vs. skeg thing is confusing too. I have only used rudder, but have heard that a lot of people don’t like them. I like the idea of a skeg, but they seem to be reserved for the pricier models?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

If the Manitou is close
See if the seller will let you give it a try.

I’m a big fella compared to you (225 lbs, 6’1") and I tried out a Manitou 14 last Wednesday. It was a bit of a tight fit, but mostly comfortable for the hour I was in it.

I imagine you would be at the other extreme. You might rattle around a little in the “large” cockpit and it may not feel like you are securely connected to the boat. It really depends on a lot of things, so there’s nothing like sitting in one.