Manitoulin Island North Side Information

Manitoulin Island in Lake Huron, the largest freshwater island in the world, has been circumnavigated at least a few times by kayak. Some accounts indicate difficulty in finding campsites on the north side of the island due to extensive development. I’m looking for the following information:

1. Areas on the north side of the island that are especially inhospitable to kayak camping.

2. Grocery stores anywhere on the outside of the island that are easily accessible by kayak without having to paddle deep into a bay.

3. Landing spots in Little Current, one of those towns. I’ve heard that there is nothing but docks and break walls.

4. Local rules & customs with respect to kayak camping on the shore.

5. Any special considerations with respect to First Nations land.

Thanks.

Some info . . .
I’m no expert on Manitoulin, and even less on the north shore, but can offer some info.

All of Manitoulin Island is private property. If you just pull up on shore and pitch a tent without permission of the landowner you are trespassing. That said, there are miles of remote shoreline that rarely see people.

The communities on the north side, as well as the south side, are all in bays, some big, some small. From the west, Meldrum Bay, Gore Bay, West Bay and probably some others I can’t think of right now. West Bay is a First Nations community.

All the communities are busy in summer with boat traffic, especially Gore bay and Little Current. Don’t know about landing in Little Current but there are many docks.

Try contacting Manitoulin Wind and Wave at

http://www.paddlemanitoulin.ca/Contact%20Us%20template.htm

I’m sure they can answer all your questions.

Paul

Manitoulin Island